Skip to content

New Year New Me

January 11, 2011

In June 2010 after several years of YoYo Dieting I had reached 25 and a half Stone. I realised it was time to do something about it, seeing that when I moved to the North East of England to go to University in 1995, I was 13 Stone! My self esteem was at an all time low and no doubt my health was suffering too.

I looked at lots of different diet plans and eventually decided to go with LighterLife. I spent a lot of time on the road with work and I needed something that was easy and convenient. It also had a period of ‘abstinence’ which seemed like a good way of wiping the slate clean and starting again. 

After a few weeks of getting my head in the right place and gearing myself up to do it I went along to a local LighterLife group in Stockton and signed up. I had to have a blood pressure test and general medical, it was a good job too I found out I had borderline high blood pressure and, according to the Practice Nurse ( I had to go to the doctors for the medical ) I was on my way to diabetes and heart disease. Blimey!!!!

So I started in earnest, the abstinence began with all my food replaced by just 4 Milkshakes a day. The first three days were bloody awful, all I could think about was food and eating. After that initial period it got easier, but I told my girlfriend “if I’ve only lost a couple of pounds Im packing it in” ( dedication eh lol!! ). I went to my 1st weigh in and nervously got on the scales 14lbs lost “Bloody Hell!!!” “A stone!”

Over the next 10 weeks the diet got easier and easier with the weight just falling off. Infact it became quite addictive trying to beat the previous weeks loss. But after the 10 weeks I had had enough and I needed food!

So instead of leaving me high and dry, LighterLife have a 12 week programme called ‘Route to Management’ where, over the course, real food, healthy food, food glorious food is reintroduced into your diet and a Milkshake is removed.

So Day One what would I be getting?!?!? Steak and Chips? Pie and Mash oooo I couldn’t wait. So what was it? 3 Milkshakes and a Tin of Tuna for tea. What!! Is that it??

Yup one tin of Tuna. But I have to say after 10 weeks of taking only Banana, Strawberry and Vanilla Milkshakes it turned out to be the tastiest tin of fish I have ever eaten. It was like a party on my tounge! Whoop.

Over the twelve weeks more and more food was introduced into my diet and at about 10 weeks in I had pretty much all food open to me.

So here I am at the end of the diet 7 and a half Stone later and feeling absolutely fantastic. as well as the weight I’ve lost 4 Inches off my neck, 12 Inches off my Waist and 10 Inches off my chest.

I would recommed it to anyone. I would say though make sure you are ready to do it. The first few weeks are tough but worth it Sooooo worth it.

 

From → General Musings

2 Comments
  1. Ben Tubb permalink

    Looking great mate! I’m doing the same but with Weight Watchers. Isn’t losing weight a great feeling! :) Good on ya :)

    • Hi Matey

      Cheers for the great comment :)

      Yes its a fantastic feeling dropping the pounds. I feel so much better for it. Good luck with your Weight Watchers. I hope you lose what you want to.

      See You Soon I hope
      Gaz :) :) :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

